Dieses Bild zeigt Buchmeiser

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil.

Michael R. Buchmeiser

Head of Chair
Institute of Polymer Chemistry
Chair of Macromolecular Materials and Fiber Chemistry


+49 711 685-64075
+49 711 685-64050

Pfaffenwaldring 55
70569 Stuttgart Stuttgart

Michael R. Buchmeiser received his Ph. D. in Organometallic Chemistry at the University of Innsbruck, Austria, under the supervision of Prof. H. Schottenberger working on early and late transition metal metallocenes. He was awarded an "Erwin Schrödinger Fellowship" and spent one year at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT, Cambridge, MA) within the group of Professor Richard R. Schrock (Chemistry Nobel Prize 2005) working on poly(metallocenylacetylene)s and fluorinated organomolybdenum compounds. In 1995 he accepted a position as an Assistant Professor at the University of Innsbruck where he finished his "Habilitation" in Macromolecular Chemistry in 1998. From 1998-2004, he held a Faculty Position as Associate Professor at the University of Innsbruck, Austria. From 2000-2001, he was visiting Professor at the Graz University of Technology, Austria. From 2004-2009, he held a Faculty Position (Full Professorship (C4) for "Chemical Technology of Polymers") at the University of Leipzig, Germany. In parallel, from 2005-2009, he was Vice Director and Member of Board of the Leibniz Institute of Surface Modification (IOM), Leipzig, Germany. He received offers for Full Professorships from the Universities of Halle, Germany (2004), Leoben, Austria (2005), Dresden, Germany (2007) and Saarbrücken, Germany (2012, Full Professorship + Scientific Director of the Leibniz-Institute of New Materials, INM), which he all declined. Instead, in 2009, he accepted a Full Professorship in Macromolecular Chemistry at the University of Stuttgart, Germany. Since then, he is also the Director of the Institute of Textile Chemistry and Chemical Fibers (ITCF), Denkendorf, Germany and member of the Board of the German Instituts of Textile and Fiber Research. His research interests focus on transition-metal catalyzed polymerizations, surface modifications, porous polymeric supports and their applications in the areas of heterogeneous catalysis, life sciences and battery systems. In addition, he is also engaged into various aspects of fiber chemistry including high-performance polymeric and inorganic fibers such as carbon fibers, oxide and non-oxide ceramic fibers, aramides and others. He is member of the International Advisory Board of Macromol. Rapid Commun., Macromol. Chem. Phys. and Macromol. Mater. Eng., has published more than 350 research papers and has filed more then 40 patents. Since 2018, he is speaker of the CRC 1333 "Molecular Heterogeneous Catalysis in Confined Geometries"

Past Duties

  1. 2007-2009 Member of the Scientific Board of the Institute für Nicht-klassische Chemie, Leipzig
  2. 2007-2009 Principal Researcher, Graduate School of Excellence (BuildMoNa), University of Leipzig
  3. 2008-2012 Member of Board of the "Fachgruppe Makromolekulare Chemie" of the GDCh
  4. 2009-2012 Member of the Scientific Board of the Forschungsgesellschaft Kunststoffe, Darmstadt, Germany
  5. 2010-2012 Member of the Scientific Board of the Forschungsgesellschaft für Pigmente und Lacke e.V., Stuttgart
  6. 2010-2012 Vice Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry
  7. 2012-2018 Member of Board of the "Allianz Faserbasierter Werkstoffe Baden Württemberg" (AFBW)
  8. 2012-2014 Head of Board (Kuratorium) "Brennstoffzellen- und Batterieallianz Baden-Württemberg" (BBA-BW)

Current Duties

  1. 2009-        Member of the Comittee (Kuratorium) of the Freiburger Materialforschungszentrum (FMF), Freiburg
  2. 2009-        Chair of Macromolecular Chemistry and Chemical Fibers, Faculty of Chemistry, University of Stuttgart
  3. 2012-        Expert witness, Federal Supreme Court Karlsruhe (patent litigations)
  4. 2013-        Mitglied in Evaluierungskommissionen des Deutschen Wissenschaftsrats
  5. 2014-        Member of the Advisory Council "Leichtbau BW"
  6. 2018-        Spokesperson of the CRC 1333 „Molecular Heterogeneous Catalysis in Confined Geometries“
  1. Erwin Schrödinger Auslandsstipendium (J00937-PHY)
    FWF - Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung, Wien
  2. Prof. Ernst Brandl Forschungspreis 1998
  3. START Forschungspreis 2001
    Österreichisches Bundesministerium für Bildung, Kultur und Wissenschaft, Wien
  4. Novartis Forschungspreis 2001
    Novartis AG
  5. Otto Roelen-Medaille 2010
    Gesellschaft Deutscher Katalytiker
  1. Member of the Editorial Board of
    Open Macromolecules Journal
  2. Member of the International Advisory Board of
    Macromol. Chem. Phys.
    Macromol. Rapid. Commun.
    Macromol. Mater. Eng.
  1. Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh)
  2. Gesellschaft Österreichischer Chemiker (GÖCh)
  3. American Chemical Society (Polymer Division and PMSE Division)
  4. Mitglied des Vereins der Freunde der Universität Stuttgart
  5. Mitglied RC Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. C. Coperét, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. G. Frater, XiMo AG, Switzerland
Dr. C. Gürtler, Covestro AG, Germany
Prof. Dr. Dr. A. Hintennach, Daimler AG, Germany
Prof. Dr. K. Liedl, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Prof. Dr. K. Nomura, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Prof. Dr. R. R. Schrock, MIT, USA
Prof. Dr. U. Tallarek, Universität Marburg, Germany
Prof. Dr. Y. Yagci, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey